Evaluation and review of manuscripts

The manuscript evaluation process has two main stages. At the first stage, the manuscript is evaluated for its relevance to key formal requirements and the editorial board makes a consensual decision on whether to proceed to the review process. At this stage, the manuscript may be rejected on the following grounds:

  • Irrelevance to the journal’s research focus;
  • Out-of-dated analysis, in relation to the journal’s thematic priorities;
  • Lack of originality of the author’s research, plagiarism or self-plagiarism, largely descriptive character of the article, and low quality of independent analysis;
  • Clear signs of incompetence, lack of knowledge about key facts, sources, and scholarly works;
  • Major biases in favour of a certain side or viewpoint, with a lack of attention to and source-based analysis of alternative viewpoints;
  • Non-compliance with essential style guide requirements.

In case of positive decision by the Editors about manuscript’s compliance with the journal’s requirements, the article is sent for review to one or two experts in the respective field. In complex or contested cases, the article is reviewed by two referees. Reviewers include external experts from Russian and foreign academic institutions, the IMEMO researchers and Editorial Council members. The review process is double blind: manuscripts sent for review should not contain information that allows identification of the author, while authors are not provided with information about reviewers.

Manuscript reviews should be detailed, well-argued, and unbiased. If these criteria are not met, the editors may replace a reviewer with another one. A review includes assessment of compliance to formal and substantive criteria (topical relevance, innovativeness, independence of analysis, familiarity with key sources and research literature, validity of conclusions, impartiality etc.) аnd, if appropriate, recommendations for the author. A reviewer should be guided by provisions and principles of the Publication Ethics. For more detail on editorial policy, see Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement.

Upon completion of a review, a reviewer makes one of four decisions: “recommended for publication”, “recommended for publication with minor revisions”, “major revisions required”, and “rejected”. If a reviewer gives a positive verdict, the editors reserve the right to make additional comments on a manuscript. These comments should be duly taken into account by the author as a condition for the manuscript’s acceptance for publication.

The verdict “recommended for publication with minor revisions” implies that the final decision is made by the editors upon consideration of minor revisions made the author to account for the reviewer’s comments.

The verdict “major revisions required” entails re-sending an essentially revised work to a reviewer. If the author ignores critical comments from the previous review (and does not provide, in a letter to the editors, a detailed, well-grounded explanation of his/her disagreement with critical comments), a resubmitted manuscript may be rejected by the editors without sending the article to the second review.

If a review suggests to reject a manuscript, an author may also provide a detailed, reasoned disagreement in form of a letter to the Editor-in-Chief. In that case, the final decision on whether to send the article for consideration by another reviewer or to reject it is ultimately made consensually by the Editorial Board.

See also Author Guidelines.

Comments (0)

No comments

Add comment







Indexed

Current Issue
2020, No. 1(58)
  • - IN FOCUS: EAST ASIA
  • - EAST ASIAN APPROACHES TO PEACEBUILDING
  • - MARITIME CONFLICTS AND SECURITY IN EAST ASIA AND EURASIA
  • - SECURITY POLICIES OF EAST ASIAN STATES
  • - CONFLICTS AND SECURITY IN THE MIDDLE EAST
  • - BOOK REVIEWS
View This Issue (2020, No. 1(58))
Submit an Article
Years
2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Рассмотрение и рецензирование статей

Процесс рассмотрения поступивших рукописей состоит из двух основных стадий. На первой стадии рукопись оценивается с вынесением солидарного вердикта членами редколлегии на предмет формального соответствия ключевым требованиям журнала. На этой стадии материал может быть отклонен по следующим основаниям:

  • Несоответствие тематике журнала;
  • Неактуальность исследования с учетом тематических приоритетов журнала;
  • Недостаточная оригинальность исследования, плагиат или самоплагиат, выраженно описательный характер работы при низком уровне самостоятельного анализа;
  • Явные признаки некомпетентности, неосведомленности относительно ключевых фактов, источников, исследовательских работ;
  • Выраженная тенденциозность, заведомо пристрастное отношение к той или иной стороне или позиции при отсутствии добросовестного (с должной опорой на источники) анализа альтернативных точек зрения;
  • Несоблюдение базовых стандартов оформления рукописи.

При положительном заключении о соответствии рукописи требованиям журнала она направляется на рецензирование авторитетному специалисту в соответствующей области. Рецензирование осуществляется с привлечением экспертов ИМЭМО РАН, членов редакционного совета журнала, специалистов других академических институтов, университетов и иных научных учреждений, как российских, так и зарубежных. Рецензирование носит анонимный характер: работы направляются на рассмотрение без указания авторских данных. Авторам сведения о рецензентах не сообщаются.

Рецензия на рукопись должна быть развернутой, аргументированной и непредвзятой; при явном несоответствии этим критериям редколлегия осуществляет замену рецензента. Рецензия включает в себя оценку соответствия работы формальным и содержательным критериям (актуальность, степень новизны, самостоятельность анализа, знакомство с источниками и научной литературой по теме, корректность выводов, объективность и т. п.), а также, по возможности, рекомендации автору. При рассмотрении рукописи рецензент руководствуется положениями и принципами публикационной этики.

По результатам рассмотрения рукописи рецензент может вынести один из 4 вердиктов: «рекомендовать к публикации», «рекомендовать к публикации после небольшой доработки», «требуется существенная доработка» и «отклонить». В случае вынесения рецензентом положительного вердикта, редакция оставляет за собой право делать дополнительные замечания к работе, учет которых также является условием для принятия рукописи к публикации.

При вердикте «рекомендовать к публикации после небольшой доработки» окончательное решение о публикации принимается редакцией коллегиально с учетом качества проделанной автором работы над замечаниями рецензента и редколлегии.

Вердикт «требуется существенная доработка» предполагает направление переработанной с учетом замечаний рукописи на повторное рецензирование. В случае явного игнорирования критических замечаний рецензента (без изъявления аргументированного несогласия с критикой в сопроводительном письме) при повторной подаче доработанного варианта рукопись может быть отклонена редакцией без направления на повторное рецензирования.

В случае отклонения рукописи рецензентом автор имеет право представить аргументированные возражения в виде письма главному редактору журнала.

Окончательное решение по итогам апелляции о направлении работы на рассмотрение другому рецензенту или ее отклонении принимается редколлегией коллегиально.

Комментарии (0)

Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий







Индексируется

  

Текущий номер
№ 1(60), 2021
  • - ЦИФРОВИЗАЦИЯ И КОНФЛИКТЫ
  • - КРИЗИСЫ ПОЛИТИЧЕСКОГО ТРАНЗИТА
  • - ВООРУЖЕННЫЕ КОНФЛИКТЫ И МИРНЫЕ ПРОЦЕССЫ
  • - КОНТРОЛЬ НАД ВООРУЖЕНИЯМИ
  • - КОРЕННЫЕ НАРОДЫ И КРУПНЫЕ КОРПОРАЦИИ: КОНФЛИКТЫ И ВЗАИМОДЕЙСТВИЕ
  • - РЕЦЕНЗИИ
Открыть этот выпуск (№ 1(60), 2021)
Отправить статью
По годам
2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |