Erosion of the nuclear nonproliferation regime in the context of transformation of the world order (the case of Tenth Non-Proliferation Treaty Review conference)

16
Erosion of the nuclear nonproliferation regime in the context of transformation of the world order (the case of Tenth Non-Proliferation Treaty Review conference)
// Pathways to Peace and Security. 2022. No 2 (63). P. 217-233
DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2022-2-217-233

Abstract. The article discusses the problem of the functioning of the nuclear nonproliferation regime in the context of the world order transformation. On August 1–26, 2022, the Tenth Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference ended without the adoption of a final document. Its absence, as well as the general atmosphere at the conference, boosted new discussions about the crisis of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT). The author examines the nuclear nonproliferation regime through the lens of global power reconfiguration that, among other things, affects the NPT review process. The author explores general trends in the evolution of the nuclear nonproliferation regime since the collapse of the USSR. This allows us to both identify the factors of erosion of the nuclear nonproliferation regime and analyze prospects and risks of the NPT review process. The analysis is largely based on the first-hand material collected by the author during her in-person participation in the Tenth NPT Review Conference as a representative of a Russian nongovernmental organization, specializing in nuclear nonproliferation, disarmament, and global security.

Keywords: world order, transformation, Treaty of the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), review process, nuclear nonproliferation regime, NPT Review Conference


About author

Elena Karnaukhova heads the Education and Training Program and is a Deputy Director, PIR Center, Moscow. She coordinated the work of the PIR Center delegation at the Tenth NPT Review Conference and coordinates a joint project with MGIMO-University “Global Security, Strategic Stability, and Arms Control” (funded by Strategic Academic Leadership program “Priority-2030”).


Registered in System SCIENCE INDEX

For citation:
Karnaukhova E. Erosion of the nuclear nonproliferation regime in the context of transformation of the world order (the case of Tenth Non-Proliferation Treaty Review conference) // Pathways to Peace and Security. 2022. No 2 (63). P. 217-233. https://doi.org/10.20542/2307-1494-2022-2-217-233



Comments (0)

No comments

Add comment







Indexes and Databases

  

 

  

Current Issue
2023, No. 2 (65)
  • - INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTIONS AT THE CROSSROADS
  • - CONFLICT AND SECURITY ISSUES IN AFRICA
  • - MARITIME SECURITY
  • - WEAPONS AND ARMS CONTROL
  • - PRIVATE MILITARY COMPANIES IN INTERNATIONAL CONTEXT
Submit an Article
Years
2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Эрозия режима ядерного нераспространения в условиях трансформации мирового порядка (на примере X Обзорной конференции Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия)

239

Автономная некоммерческая организация «ПИР-Центр»

Московский государственный институт международных отношений МИД России (МГИМО МИД России)

Эрозия режима ядерного нераспространения в условиях трансформации мирового порядка (на примере X Обзорной конференции Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия)
// Пути к миру и безопасности. 2022. № 2 (63). С. 217-233
DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2022-2-217-233

Аннотация. Статья посвящена проблеме функционирования режима ядерного нераспространения в условиях трансформации мирового порядка. 1–26 августа 2022 г. состоялась Х Обзорная конференция Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия (ДНЯО), которая завершилась без принятия итогового документа. Его отсутствие, как и общая атмосфера на конференции, активизировала дискуссии о кризисе ДНЯО. Автор рассматривает режим ядерного нераспространения сквозь призму изменения конфигурации баланса сил в мире, которое, помимо прочего, оказывает влияние на обзорный процесс ДНЯО. Анализируются общие тенденции развития режима ядерного нераспространения с момента распада СССР, что позволяет выявить факторы эрозии этого режима и оценить перспективы и риски для обзорного процесса ДНЯО в будущем. Статья основывается на анализе материала, собранного автором в ходе очного участия в Х Обзорной конференции ДНЯО в качестве представителя российской неправительственной организации, занимающейся проблематикой ядерного нераспространения, контроля над вооружениями и глобальной безопасности.

Ключевые слова: мировой порядок, трансформация, Договор о нераспространении ядерного оружия (ДНЯО), обзорный процесс, режим ядерного нераспространения, Обзорная конференция ДНЯО


Об авторе

Карнаухова Елена Андреевна – директор Образовательной программы и заместитель директора АНО «ПИР-Центр», Москва. Координатор работы делегации ПИР-Центра на X Обзорной конференции ДНЯО. Курирует проект «Глобальная безопасность, стратегическая стабильность и контроль над вооружениями» (реализуется совместно с МГИМО МИД России в рамках Программы стратегического академического лидерства «Приоритет-2030»).


Размещено в РИНЦ

Ссылка для цитирования:

Карнаухова Е. Эрозия режима ядерного нераспространения в условиях трансформации мирового порядка (на примере X Обзорной конференции Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия) // Пути к миру и безопасности. 2022. № 2 (63). С. 217-233. https://doi.org/10.20542/2307-1494-2022-2-217-233



Комментарии (0)

Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий







Индексы и базы данных

 

 

 

Текущий номер
№ 2 (65), 2023
  • - МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЕ ИНСТИТУТЫ НА ПЕРЕПУТЬЕ
  • - КОНФЛИКТЫ И ПРОБЛЕМЫ БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ В АФРИКЕ
  • - БЕЗОПАСНОСТЬ НА МОРЕ
  • - ВООРУЖЕНИЯ И КОНТРОЛЬ НАД ВООРУЖЕНИЯМИ
  • - ЧАСТНЫЕ ВОЕННЫЕ КОМПАНИИ В МЕЖДУНАРОДНОМ КОНТЕКСТЕ
Отправить статью
По годам
2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |