Brookings Institution

IMEMO RAN together with the Brookings Institution (USA) launches a unique project with an aim to promote US-Russian cooperation on nuclear proliferation and civil nuclear power, following the announcement of a "reset" in bilateral relations and signing of a new treaty on strategic offensive arms.

A.A. Dynkin, Director of the Institute, Member of the Academy of Sciences, heads the project on IMEMO side. Besides the above-mentioned experts, the project also involves Viktor Esin (First Vice-President of the Academy of Security, Defense and Law), Valentin Korabelnikov (Corresponding Member of Russian Academy of Missile and Artillery Sciences, Army General, former chief of the Intelligence Department General Staff of the Russian Federation), Vyacheslav Trubnikov (a member of the directorate IMEMO, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, formerly director of the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation), Gennady Chufrin (Member of the Directorate IMEMO, Corresponding Member of RAN), Irina Kobrinskaya (leading researcher at IMEMO RAN). On the American side, Richard Barth (co-chair of Global Zero Group) and Jennifer Friedman (Albright Stonebridge Group) should be also mentioned.

One of the fundamental ideas of the project was to formulate expert proposals for further action by the two countries even before the signing of a new treaty on strategic offensive arms in order to avoid breaks and slowdown in this important international security process. The main focus was to concentrate on the analysis of ways to further reductions in strategic arms, nuclear nonproliferation and the development of peaceful nuclear energy.
A distinctive feature of the project is a combination of both joint and parallel work of two groups of professionals of the highest class from Russia and the United States, holding brainstorming sessions and the development of practically significant recommendations.

The first meeting of experts from IMEMO RAN and from the Brookings Institution was held in December 2009, in Washington, with the focus on possible steps of Russia and U.S. in nuclear disarmament after the signing of a new bilateral Treaty on strategic nuclear weapons cuts.

Panelists included Igor Ivanov (former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Security Council Secretary) and key scientists from IMEMO: Vladimir Baranovsky (Corresponding Member of RAS, Deputy Director of the Institute), Alexander Pikayev (Head of Department of Disarmament and Conflict Resolution) Vladimir Dvorkin (Chief Research Officer, Major General, retired) – on the Russian side. On the American side - Madeleine Albright (a prominent politician and public figure, former U.S. Secretary of State), Strobe Talbott (President of the Brookings Institution, formerly Assistant Secretary of State), Joseph Cirincione (President of Ploughshares Fund) and leading officials of the Brookings Institution - Steven Pifer (formerly U.S. ambassador to Ukraine) and Clifford Gaddy, senior researcher at the Brookings Institution.
 Russian and American participants prepared materials for this meeting, with their vision of possible further steps of the two countries, as well as practical advice on the matter. Alexei Arbatov, head of the Center for International Security IMEMO RAN and Corresponding member of RAS; and Anatoly Dyakov, head of the Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environment at Moscow Physical-Technical Institute along with other participants facilitated the development of the materials on the Russian side.
The participants formulated practical recommendations as a follow-up to the presentations and discussions, and then I. Ivanov, M. Albright and S. Talbot submitted them to the governments of Russia and the U.S. The recommendations were well appreciated. In a reply to Ivanov, Sergey Lavrov, Russian Foreign Minister expressed hopes to gain efficiency in the partnership between IMEMO RAS and the Brookings Institution, and praised the proposals made as extremely useful.
Taking into account only the actual nature of the issues, both institutions agreed to publish the materials submitted by the Russian and the American side which resulted in a booklet “Nuclear Disarmament, Non-proliferation, Energy: Developing Further U.S.–Russian Cooperation”, issued on the basis of IMEMO RAN in Russian and English.

Comments (0)

No comments

Add comment







First news
Institute News
11/20/19

Global Terrorism Index 2019 is out of print. It includes an expert essay by Dr Ekaterina Stepanova on Global Terrorism and Anti-terrorism after ISIL: Two Key Aspects That Will Not Change Soon.

more...

11/12/19

Marina Klinova spoke at a discussion organized in a Round-table format on the topic “Public-Private Partnership as a Mechanism for Managing the Process of Attracting Investments in Infrastructure Projects”.

more...

Recently Published

Институт Брукингса


ИМЭМО РАН совместно с Институтом Брукингса (США) ведет уникальный проект, посвященный сотрудничеству России и США в области ядерного разоружения, нераспространения и гражданской атомной энергетики после объявления о «перезагрузке» двусторонних отношений и подписания нового Договора о СНВ.
 
От ИМЭМО РАН проект возглавляет директор института, академик А.А. Дынкин. С российской стороны, кроме упомянутых выше экспертов, в проекте также принимают участие Виктор Есин (первый вице-президент Академии проблем безопасности, обороны и правопорядка), Валентин Корабельников (член-корреспондент Российской академии ракетных и артиллерийских наук, генерал армии, бывший начальник Главного разведывательного управления Генштаба ВС РФ),   Вячеслав Трубников (член дирекции ИМЭМО РАН, чрезвычайный и полномочный посол, ранее директор Службы внешней разведки РФ) Геннадий Чуфрин (Член дирекции ИМЭМО РАН, член-корреспондент РАН), Ирина Кобринская (ведущий научный сотрудник ИМЭМО РАН). С американской стороны, необходмо также упомянуть Ричарда Барта (сопредседателя группы Global Zero) и Дженифера Фридмана (Albright Stonebridge Group).

Одной из основополагающих идей проекта было стремление сформулировать экспертные предложения относительно дальнейших действий двух стран еще до заключения ими нового договора о СНВ для того, чтобы избежать возникновения пауз и снижения темпа в этом важном для международной безопасности процессе. Главное внимание было решено сосредоточить на анализе путей дальнейших сокращений стратегических вооружений, ядерном нераспространении и развитии мирной атомной энергетики.

Отличительной чертой проекта стало сочетание как совместной, так и параллельной работы двух групп специалистов высочайшего класса из России и США, проведение «мозговых штурмов», разработка практически значимых рекомендаций.

В декабре 2009 г. в Вашингтоне состоялась первая встреча специалистов ИМЭМО РАН и Института Брукингса, посвященная возможным шагам России и США в области ядерного разоружения после подписания нового двустороннего Договора по сокращению стратегических наступательных вооружений.

С российской стороны во встрече приняли участие Игорь Иванов (ранее министр иностранных дел, секретарь Совета безопасности РФ) и ведущие сотрудники ИМЭМО РАН: Владимир Барановский (член-корреспондент РАН, заместитель директора Института), Александр Пикаев (зав. отделом разоружения и урегулирования конфликтов), Владимир Дворкин (главный научный сотрудник, генерал-майор в отставке). С американской стороны – Мадлен Олбрайт (видный политический и общественный деятель, ранее госсекретарь США), Строуб Тэлботт (президент Института Брукингса, ранее заместитель госсекретаря США), Джозеф Сиринсионе (президент Фонда Плоушерз) и ведущие сотрудники Института Брукингса Стивен Пайфер (ранее посол США на Украине) и Клиффорд Гэдди, старший научный сотрудник Института Брукингса.

К этой встрече российские и американские участники подготовили материалы, в которых было изложено их видение возможных дальнейших шагов двух стран, а также практические рекомендации на этот счет. С российской стороны в разработку подготовительных материалов, помимо участников встречи, внесли вклад руководитель Центра международной безопасности ИМЭМО, член-корреспондент РАН Алексей Арбатов, руководитель Центра по контролю над вооружениями, энергетике и охране окружающей среды Московского физико-технического института Анатолий Дьяков.

 На основе представленных докладов и прошедшего обсуждения участниками были сформулированы практические рекомендации, которые затем И. Иванов, М. Олбрайт и С. Тэлбот направили руководству России и США. Сделанные предложения были по достоинству оценены. В ответном письме И.Иванову, министр иностранных дел РФ С.Лавров выразил надежду на результативность установления партнерских отношений между ИМЭМО РАН и Институтом Брукингса, оценил сделанное предложение как весьма полезное. 

Принимая во внимание исключительно актуальный характер рассматриваемых вопросов, оба института приняли решение о публикации материалов, представленных российской и американской стороной. В результате вышла в свет, изданная на базе ИМЭМО РАН на русском и английском языках брошюра «Ядерное разоружение, нераспространение, энергетика; перспективы сотрудничества между Россией и США» (Nuclear Disarmament, Non-proliferation, Energy: Developing Further U.S.–Russian Cooperation.). Она представляет собой две части – рекомендации российских (А.Арбатов, В.Барановский, А.Пикаев, В.Дворкин) и американских (Дж.Сиринсионе, К.Гэдди, С.Пайфер) экспертов. Не являясь зеркальным отражением друг друга по порядку и формулировке анализируемых проблем, эти два раздела, тем не менее, дают весьма полное представление о взглядах сторон, их подходах к решению широкого комплекса проблем в заявленных областях. Обе группы специалистов приходят к выводам, которые в заметной степени перекликаются друг с другом, предоставляют основу для дальнейшей совместной работы.

Комментарии (0)

Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий







Актуальные комментарии
Новости Института
17.10.2019

В издательстве Palgrave Macmillan вышла коллективная монография Russia's Public Diplomacy: Evolution and Practice, в авторский коллектив которой вошел ряд сотрудников ИМЭМО РАН.

подробнее...

16.10.2019

На сайте Международного дискуссионного клуба «Валдай» опубликован комментарий Станислава Иванова на тему «Турецкий гамбит смешал все фигуры на шахматной доске Вашингтона».

подробнее...

Вышли из печати