Humanitarian aspects of modern conflicts

97
Humanitarian aspects of modern conflicts
// Pathways to Peace and Security. 2018. no 1(54) Special Issue: Humanitarian Challenges, Humanitarian Support and Human Protection in Armed Conflicts. Edited by Ekaterina Stepanova, . P. 11-43

DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2018-1-11-43

Stepanova, Ekaterina
Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations
23 Profsoyuznaya ul., Moscow 117997 Russia
stepanova@imemo.ru



Abstract

The article explores how the changing nature of armed violence in modern conflicts affects humanitarian situation and civilian population. The analysis is based on data from the lead conflict datasets and focuses on those modern trends in the forms of armed violence widespread in conflict areas that leave the heaviest footprint on human security and on the state of civilians. The main humanitarian consequences of evolving patterns of violence in conflict and types of damage to civilian population are identified – from direct human losses and destruction of basic infrastructure to forced displacement and indirect damage from hunger, diseases etc. Conclusions include findings about the significance of the study of humanitarian aspects of modern conflicts and their effects on civilian population for humanitarian policy and the way humanitarian activity is interlinked with conflict management and conflict resolution. 


Keywords

armed conflicts, humanitarian security, humanitarian damage, civil wars, fragmentation of violence, conflict recurrence, internationalization of conflicts, transnationalization, armed non-state actors, non-state conflicts, criminalization, privatization of war, battle-related deaths, civilian losses, one-sided violence against civilians, terrorism, refugees, internally displaced persons, indirect civilian damage, hunger, epidemics, human security 


Registered in system SCIENCE INDEX

For citation:
Stepanova E. Humanitarian aspects of modern conflicts. Pathways to Peace and Security, 2018, no 1(54) Special Issue: Humanitarian Challenges, Humanitarian Support and Human Protection in Armed Conflicts. Edited by Ekaterina Stepanova, , pp. 11-43. DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2018-1-11-43



Comments (0)

No comments

Add comment







Indexed

Current Issue
2019, No. 1(56)
  • - ARTICLES
  • - Crises and conflicts
  • - International legal aspects of the security of state, society and individual
  • - Weapons and military security
  • - BOOK REVIEWS
View This Issue (2019, No. 1(56))
In Journal
PATHWAYS TO PEACE AND SECURITY
                     Archive
                     Subjects
                     Authors
                     Articles for the year
                     Authors for the year
Years
2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Гуманитарные аспекты современных конфликтов

159
Гуманитарные аспекты современных конфликтов
// Пути к миру и безопасности. 2018. № 1(54) Спецвыпуск: Гуманитарные вызовы, гуманитарное реагирование и защита гражданского населения в вооруженных конфликтах. Под редакцией Е.А. Степановой, . С. 11-43

DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2018-1-11-43

Степанова Екатерина Андреевна – ведущий научный сотрудник, руководитель Группы по исследованию проблем мира и конфликтов Национального исследовательского института мировой экономики и 
международных отношений им. Е.М.Примакова РАН, д.полит.н. 


Аннотация

Статья посвящена тому, как меняющийся характер вооруженного насилия в современных конфликтах влияет на положение гражданского населения и гуманитарную обстановку. На основе материалов ведущих баз данных по конфликтам проведен анализ тех современных тенденций в области различных форм насилия в конфликтных зонах, которые сильнее всего отражаются на гуманитарной безопасности и положении гражданского населения. Намечены основные гуманитарные последствия таких изменений и виды гуманитарного ущерба населению – от прямых людских потерь и разрушения базовой инфраструктуры до вынужденного перемещения и непрямого ущерба в результате голода, болезней и т. п. В заключении сделаны выводы о значении анализа гуманитарных последствий и аспектов современных конфликтов для гуманитарной политики и об ее связи с проблемами урегулирования конфликтов. 


Ключевые слова

вооруженные конфликты, гуманитарная безопасность, гуманитарный ущерб, гражданские войны, фрагментация насилия, возобновляемость конфликтов, интернационализация конфликтов, транснационализация, вооруженные негосударственные игроки, негосударственные конфликты, криминализация, приватизация войны, жертвы военных действий, гражданские потери, одностороннее насилие против гражданского населения, терроризм, беженцы, внутренне перемещенные лица, непрямые потери среди гражданского населения, голод, эпидемии, гуманитарная безопасность (безопасность человека и общества) 


Размещено в РИНЦ

Правильная ссылка на статью:

Степанова Е. Гуманитарные аспекты современных конфликтов. Пути к миру и безопасности, 2018, № 1(54) Спецвыпуск: Гуманитарные вызовы, гуманитарное реагирование и защита гражданского населения в вооруженных конфликтах. Под редакцией Е.А. Степановой, , сс. 11-43. DOI: 10.20542/2307-1494-2018-1-11-43



Комментарии (0)

Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий







Индексируется

Текущий номер
№ 1(56), 2019
  • - СТАТЬИ, ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ, РАЗРАБОТКИ
  • - Кризисы и конфликты
  • - Международно-правовые аспекты безопасности государства, человека и общества
  • - Вооружения и военная безопасность
  • - О КНИГАХ И ПУБЛИКАЦИЯХ
Открыть этот выпуск (№ 1(56), 2019)
В журнале
ПУТИ К МИРУ И БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ
                     Архив номеров
                     Индекс рубрик
                     Индекс авторов
                     Статьи за год
                     Авторы за год
По годам
2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |