Presentation of the report Elite attitudes toward global governance

359
 

The presentation of the report «Elite attitudes toward global governance» took place at IMEMO on 18th of November 2019. The report presents overview findings of a survey conducted in 2017-2019 by the researchers of Stockholm and Gothenburg universities (Sweden) with the participation of IMEMO, State University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) and the University of Pretoria (South Africa).

Director of IMEMO Feodor Voitolovsky opened the event. He congratulated the organizers and participants of the project on its successful completion and welcomed scientific cooperation between IMEMO and foreign universities. He also stressed the topicality of the subject of the study, according to which IMEMO published in 2015 the monograph “Global governance: possibilities and risks”.

The main reports on the concept, methodology and results of the study were made by Jan Aart Scholte, D.Phil, professor in Peace and development at the School of global studies, (University of Gothenburg) and by Soetkin Verhaegen, Ph. D (Politics), Postdoctoral researcher (Stockholm University). IMEMO researchers Pavel Timofeev and Maria Khorolskaya (Department for European Political Studies) presented specifics and results for the survey conducted among Russian elites.

The presentation was followed by the discussion on the following issues: 
1) What are global governance institutions and how does the emergence of new institutions reflect changes in the world order?
2) What elites influence global governance?
3) What methodology is optimal for studying the attitude of elites to global governance institutions?
4) How would elite positions affect global governance prospects?

The discussion was moderated by IMEMO Deputy Director for Scientific Work Irina Semenenko. The discussants included Feodor Voitolovsky; Deputy Director of the Institute for African Studies RAS Leonid Fituni, academician, head of research of IMEMO Natalya Ivanova, Head of Department for European Political Studies Nadezhda Arbatova, director of IMEMO (interim) Alexey Kuznetsov, senior researcher of MGIMO Kirill Petrov, junior research fellow of IMEMO Nikolai Kardava.

The participants in the discussion expressed interest in the nature and results of the study, noting its novelty and non-triviality. At the same time, they drew attention to the difficulties in the conducting of this work, since there is no generally accepted definition of the concept of “global governance institutions” in the world and the line between “global governance” and international organizations is unclear. In addition, it is not easy to unambiguously interpret the concepts that are studied in the report (for example, the concept of “fairness”) with regard to the work of organizations. Discussants noted that the sample of six countries where the elite survey was conducted does not fully reflect the civilizational diversity in the world - it does not include China, India, Muslim countries, and Muslim organizations in the selection of institutions -, thus, these samples mainly reflect Western perceptions of global governance. It was suggested that while for the Western elites the work of global governance institutions is given great importance to form, then for elites of Russia, Brazil, South Africa, substance is more important. The participants also emphasized that Russia is not so much interested in the results of the work of multilateral organizations, as in principle of equality with the West. Discussants agreed that, without diminishing the significance of the presented results, work in this direction requires further fundamental research, and agreed to maintain contacts in this field.

 Program


news list

Comments (0)

No comments

Add comment







First news
Institute News
12/05/19

Primakov Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO) of the Russian Academy of Sciences with support of the Delegation of the European Union to Russia, The Alexander Gorchakov Public Diplomacy Fund organizes on Dec.5, 2019 3rd international conference «Emerging Technologies: Societal Challenges and Global Governance» (EMERTECH 2019).

more...

12/03/19

Pavel Timofeev presented the report “Protests of the “yellow vests” in France: the results of the first year” during a joint seminar organized by the Councils of Young Scientists of IMEMO and ILA RAS.

more...

Recently Published

Презентация доклада «Отношение элит к глобальному управлению»

1200

18 ноября 2019 г. в ИМЭМО РАН состоялась презентация русскоязычной версии доклада «Отношение элит к глобальному управлению». Доклад является результатом опроса элит, проведенного в 2017-2019 гг. исследователями Стокгольмского и Гётеборгского университетов (Швеция) с участием Государственного университета Рио-де-Жанейро (Бразилия), ИМЭМО РАН (Россия), Университета Претории (ЮАР).

 Текст доклада на русском языке      Текст доклада на английском языке

Мероприятие открыл директор ИМЭМО РАН, чл-корр. РАН, д.полит.н. Ф.Г. Войтоловский. Он поздравил организаторов и участников исследования с его успешным завершением и приветствовал научное сотрудничество Института с зарубежными университетами. 

С основными сообщениями о концепции, методологии и результатах исследования выступили доктор философии, профессор Ян Аарт Схолте и исследователь Сёткин Верхаген из Стокгольмского университета (Швеция). Особенности и результаты проведения опроса среди российских элит представили сотрудники Отдела европейских политических исследований – с.н.с., к.полит.н. П.П. Тимофеев и м.н.с. М.В. Хорольская.

После презентации состоялась дискуссия по следующим вопросам:
1) Что такое институты глобального управления и насколько появление новых институтов отражает изменения миропорядка?
2) Какие элиты влияют на глобальное управление?
3) Какая методология оптимальна для изучения отношения элит к институтам глобального управления?
4) Как повлияют позиции элит на перспективы глобального управления?

Модератором дискуссии выступила заместитель директора ИМЭМО РАН по научной работе, член-корреспондент РАН, д.полит.н. Ирина Станиславовна Семененко.

В дискуссии приняли участие Ф.Г. Войтоловский; заместитель директора Института Африки РАН, проф., д.э.н. Л.Л. Фитуни; академик РАН, руководитель научного направления ИМЭМО РАН, д.э.н., проф. Н.И. Иванова; заведующая Отделом европейских политических исследований ИМЭМО РАН, д.полит.н. Н.К. Арбатова; ВРИО директора ИНИОН РАН, чл.-корр. РАН, д.э.н. А.В. Кузнецов; с.н.с. МГИМО, к.полит.н. К.Е. Петров, м.н.с. Центра сравнительных социально-экономических и политических исследований ИМЭМО РАН Н.В. Кардава

Участники дискуссии высказали интерес к характеру и итогам проведенного исследования, отметив его новизну и нетривиальность. В то же время они обратили внимание на сложность проведения данной работы, поскольку в мире отсутствует общепринятое определение понятия «институты глобального управления» и неясна грань между «глобальным управлением» и международными организациями. Кроме того, непросто однозначно интерпретировать понятия, которые изучаются в докладе, применительно к работе организаций (например, понятие «честность»). Дискуссанты отметили, что выборка из шести стран, в которых был проведен опрос элит, не отражает полностью цивилизационного многообразия в мире – в ней отсутствуют Китай, Индия, мусульманские страны, а в выборке институтов – мусульманские организации, тем самым, эти выборки отражают в основном западные представления о глобальном управлении. Было высказано мнение, что если для западных элит в работе институтов глобального управления большое значение придаётся форме, то для России, Бразилии, ЮАР важнее содержание. Участники также подчеркнули, что Россия заинтересована не столько в результатах работы многосторонних организаций, сколько в принципе наличия равноправных отношений с Западом. Дискуссанты согласились с тем, что не умаляя значения представленных результатов, работа в данном направлении требует дальнейших, более фундаментальных исследований, и договорились поддерживать контакты на этом поприще.

 Программа мероприятия


к списку

Комментарии (0)

Нет комментариев

Добавить комментарий







Актуальные комментарии
Новости Института
05.12.2019

Академик Александр Дынкин выступил на Форуме европейских и средиземноморских аналитических центров (EURO-MED Think Tanks Forum).

подробнее...

05.12.2019

В ИМЭМО им. Е.М. Примакова РАН состоялась третья международная конференция «Прорывные технологии: вызовы развитию общества и глобального управления» (EMERTECH 2019), посвященная вопросам искусственного интеллекта.

подробнее...

Вышли из печати