Main page >  News > News & Events > News in detail

US-Russia Inter-Academy seminar on terrorism and violent extremism


On 1-3 November 2016, IMEMO held the US-Russia Inter-Academy seminar on terrorism and violent extremism co-organized by the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) and the US National Academies on Sciences (NAS).

Among the issues explored at the seminar were problems of Methodology of the study of, sources, types, drivers, dynamics, and ways to prevent ant respond to radicalization, violent extremism, and terrorism (of the radical Islamist, right-wing and other bent).

These issues were explored with a focus on the United States and Russia (including in comparative context, where appropriate) and in the context of conflicts in Syria, Iraq and Afghanistan. Lesson, problems and prospects of the US-Russia interaction and cooperation in this area were also analyzed.

The US participants included Gary LaFree (Director, National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) and Global Terrorism Database, Univ. of Maryland), David Laitin (Stanford Univ.), Scott Atran (Univ. of Michigan, Oxford Univ., Ecole Normale Superieure), Audrey Cronin (American University), Thomas Pickering (the former US Amb. to Russia).

Participants on the Russian side included V. TrubnikovV. BaranovskyE. StepanovaI. SemenenkoF. Voitolovsky (IMEMO), V.Tishkov (Inst. of Ethnology and Anthropology, RAS), V. Belokrenitski (Inst. of Oriental Studies, RAS), I. Starodubrovskaya (Gaidar Inst.), A.Yarlykapov (MGIMO), A. Verkhovsky (SOVA Center) et al.

On behalf of IMEMO, the research head of the seminar is Dr. Ekaterina Stepanova

Photo


news list

Главная >  Новости > Новости и события > Новость подробно

Межакадемический семинар РАН – Национальной академии наук США


1-3 ноября 2016 г. в ИМЭМО РАН состоялся Межакадемический семинар РАН – Национальной академии наук США (НАН) по терроризму и насильственному экстремизму.  На семинаре рассматривались вопросы методологии изучения, истоки, виды, динамика радикализации и насильственного экстремизма (радикально-исламистского, праворадикального и иного толка), включая  терроризм, в России и США  (в т. ч. в сравнительном контексте) и в контексте конфликтов в Сирии, Ираке и Афганистане.

Анализировались также уроки, проблемы и перспективы российско-американского взаимодействия в антитеррористической сфере и в предотвращении и противодействии вооруженному экстремизму.

Среди участников семинара с американской стороны – Гари ЛаФри (директор Национального консорциума по изучению и противодействию терроризму и Глобальной базы данных по терроризму, Ун-т Мэриленда), Дэвид Лаитин (Стенфордский ун-т), Скотт Атран (Мичиганский и Оксфордский ун-ты и Есole Normal Superieure), Одри Кронин (Американский ун-т), Томас Пикеринг  (бывший посол США в РФ) и др.

С российской стороны в семинаре приняли участие В.И. ТрубниковВ.Г. БарановскийЕ.А. СтепановаИ.С. СемененкоФ.Г. Войтоловский (ИМЭМО РАН), а также В.А.Тишков (ИЭА РАН), В.Я. Белокреницкий (ИВ РАН), И.В.Стародубровская (Ин-т Гайдара), А.А. Ярлыкапов (МГИМО), А.М. Верховский (центр СОВА) и др.

Научный руководитель семинара от ИМЭМО РАН – д.полит.н. Е.А.Степанова.  

Фотоальбом


к списку



Комментарии к этой странице: